Bathurst MP Paul Toole has been elected NSW Deputy Premier and leader of the state’s National Party.

He defeated Oxley MP Melinda Pavey 15 votes to 3 at a party room meeting on Wednesday morning.

Upper House MLC Bronnie Taylor was elected as the Deputy Leader of the party unopposed. 

It follows the resignation of Gladys Berejiklian on Friday over an upcoming investigation from the Independent Commission Against Corruption into her conduct in allocating grants, including to former disgraced Wagga Wagga MP Daryl Maguire.

On Tuesday, former Treasurer Dominic Perrottet was elected as the 46th Premier of NSW, defeating Planning Minister Rob Stokes 39 to 5 votes. Tourism Minister Stuart Ayers was elected Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party unopposed. 

Pictured: NSW Deputy Premier Paul Toole
Image: Narooma News