The state government has announced Newcastle Council has been successful in securing grant funding to fast track the rollout of Electric Vehicle Chargers across the city.

32 EV ports will be installed at 11 locations to cater for the growing number of EV owners who live in or visit Newcastle.

The locations include, Beresfield, Georgetown, Stockton, Adamstown, Mayfield, Hamilton, New Lambton, Newcastle, Newcastle East, Wallsend and Wickham.

They will be powered by 100 per cent renewable energy from the Summerhill Solar Farm.

The rollout’s been made possible through a $270,000 grant.

Newcastle Council will roll out more EV Charging Stations